Rockport Road Bridge over I-69 Nearly Complete

16 Aug

Another quick update on I-69 construction — it appears that the Rockport Road overpass over SR 37/future I-69 is ready to open any day now, as is the new alignment of That Road connecting to Rockport Road.

The following map shows the overpass, as well as the new That Road alignment. That Road on the east side of I-69 will no longer connect to That Road on the west side. Instead, That Road on the east side will turn north (as shown by the red line below) and connect with Rockport Road. The red lines are a bit squiggly because I created them using RunKeeper, and unfortunately I can’t always walk in a perfectly straight line!

Screenshot 2015-08-16 17.22.13

Here are a few pictures of the new road:

Rockport Road, Facing Northeast

Rockport Road, facing northeast to the edge of the new construction

Rockport Road bridge over I-69

Newly paved and striped Rockport Road bridge going over I-69. The road includes on-street bike lanes in each direction, which you can see to the right.

Western Terminus of Rockport Road Overpass Over I-69

This is the western terminus of the overpass. There is still a bit of work to be done on the transition.

rockport4

New alignment of That Road, which will no longer cross I-69. This is a new-terrain road that connects That Road on the east side of I-69 to Rockport Road.

Since That Road on the east side of I-69 will no longer connect with or align with That Road on the west side of I-69, there has been some suggestion that That Road on the west side should be renamed. Might I suggest “This Road”?

One Response to “Rockport Road Bridge over I-69 Nearly Complete”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Update: Rockport Road Bridge Now Open; Fullerton Pike Closed | in53 - MoCoGov - August 23, 2015

    […] brief update here. Last week I wrote about the near completion of the Rockport Road bridge over I-69, along with the realignment of That Road. Now the bridge and new That Road are both open! And Fullerton Pike eastbound from SR37/I-69 is now […]

Leave a Reply

